Renovation
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum
b_221130_umbauansicht_dunantmuseum
In Arbeit – Umbauansicht November 2022 © dunant-museum
bild1_der-neue-museumszugang2023
Der neue einladende Museumszugang; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum
b_221130_umbauansicht_dunantmuseum
In Arbeit – Umbauansicht November 2022 © dunant-museum
bild1_der-neue-museumszugang2023
Der neue einladende Museumszugang; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum

The Museum Henry Dunant is getting fit for the future!

The extensive renovation was completed in autumn 2023. With careful and respectful interventions on and in the listed building, the 19th century building was brought into the present and the basis for an open, contemporary museum world was created.


We are currently working on the realisation of the new core exhibition in order to reopen the museum to visitors in August 2024. Until then, the museum will remain closed, but will offer guided tours and workshops for school classes and groups on request. Selected events will supplement the programme during this interim phase until the museum reopens.

Info

Info

The Museum Henry Dunant is the only museum in the world that focuses on the life and work of the visionary initiator of the International Red Cross and the Geneva Conventions. Henry Dunant (1828-1910) spent the last 18 years of his life in Heiden. The Appenzell village with its classicist architecture was an internationally renowned health resort at the time. He wrote his memoirs here. At 800 m. above sea level, with a view of Lake Constance and across borders, he further developed his ideas for a more peaceful world and an International Court of Justice. It was in Heiden in 1901 that he received the announcement that he would be the first person to be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. The museum dedicated to him is housed in the building where Dunant lived as a reclusive pensioner until his death on 30 October 1910.


bezirks-krankenhaus-heiden_um1910

History of the building

1 October 1874 marks an important day for the Appenzell region: the first hospital of both Appenzell is opened in Heiden. In 1892, Henry Dunant moves into a room on the 2nd floor of the classicist building as a pensioner. Around a hundred years later, in 1998, the first Henry-Dunant-Museum is opened on the ground floor of the former district hospital. In 2020, a repositioning process is initiated. With a careful conversion of the listed building, the reorganisation of the rooms and a new core exhibition, the museum takes a step into the 21st century. The reopening is planned for autumn 2023.

05_1_bild-4_molekul_1

Vision

Based on the life of the ICRC initiator, the Museum Henry Dunant facilitates an examination of human rights, international law, peace and democracy. Under the co-direction of Kaba Rössler and Nadine Schneider, the museum is turning closer to the present and developing into an interdisciplinary place of dialogue. All of the museum's exhibitions, actions and events have a common goal: to reflect on the humanist heritage and to think ahead so that these values also reach future generations.


→ Complete vision (German)

peacebell_farb_kr_kl

Peace Bell

In front of the Museum Henry Dunant, mounted on an installation by St. Galler artist Lucie Schenker, floats a peculiar object: the Nagasaki Peace Bell. It is one of 5 copies worldwide of these angelus bells, which survived the bombing of the Japanese city on 9 August 1945, practically unscathed. The magnificent bell, a gift from Nagasaki, arrived in Heiden in March 2010. Since then, every year on 9 August, in the context of a public celebration with prominent guests, the catastrophe of Nagasaki is commemorated with the ringing of the peace bell.

denkmal_img_1532_kr

Monument

Forty years after the death of Henry Dunant, Jakob Haug, a master carpenter from Heiden, wants to erect a monument to the initiator of the Red Cross. After several hurdles, he was able to inaugurate Switzerland's first Dunant monument in Heiden in 1962. The sculptor Charlotte Jahn Germann created a remarkable work from 7.5 tonnes of granite from Graubünden. She did not carve Dunant's likeness in stone, but his pioneering idea of humanitarian aid in an abstract representation: a Good Samaritan and a person in need of help.

The unconventional financing is worth mentioning, as all Swiss cantons supported the project with one cent per inhabitant, totalling 45,000 Swiss francs.

Team

Team

The museum is co-managed by Nadine Schneider and Kaba Rössler. They are supported by a committed team.

Association

Association

The Society of the Red Cross Heiden was founded on 27 February 1890 by Henry Dunant and co-sponsored by him as honorary president. After the dissolution of the communal Red Cross societies and the merger into cantonal organisations, the society was renamed the Henry Dunant Museum Association in 1997. Already in the following year, the Henry-Dunant-Museum could be opened in the parterre rooms of the former district hospital. The tax-exempt association aims to keep the memory of Henry Dunant and his visions alive. The association's supporting organisation is the → Swiss Red Cross Cantonal Association of the two Appenzells.

Erwin Ganz
Hans-Peter Hotz
Nicole Nobs
Hanspeter Spörri

Delegate of municipal council

Stefan Züst

Delegate SRC Appenzell AR/AI

Beat Bouquet

Honorary member

John Böhi
Ethel Kocher († 2020)

Honorary president

Hermann Bergundthal
Henry Dunant († 1910)
Support

Support

The Museum Henry Dunant receives recurring financial support from the municipality of Heiden, the cultural promotion of the Canton of Appenzell Ausserrhoden as well as the Appenzellische Gemeinnützigen Gesellschaft (AGG) and the Ebnet Foundation.


The exhibition and event programme is co-financed on a project basis by foundations, sponsors and private patrons as well as by the Circle of Friends.


The Museum Henry Dunant is part of the platform Museen im Appenzellerland, which is supported and managed by the Office of Culture of the Canton of Appenzell Ausserrhoden.

logo-button-2

Thanks for supporting the 2024 programme:

acrevis Bank AG, Appenzellische Gemeinnützige Gesellschaft, Ebnet Stiftung, Gemeinde Heiden, ippnw, Kulturförderung Appenzell Ausserrhoden, SRK beider Appenzell


Thanks for supporting the repositioning:

Appenzellische Winkelriedstiftung, → Beisheim Stiftun g, Bertold-Suhner-Stiftung, Deutsches Rotes Kreuz DRK, Dr. Fred Styger Stiftung, Ebnet-Stiftung, ecodocs foundation, → Ernst Göhner Stiftung , Erika und Conrad Schnyder-Stiftung, Ethel Madeleine Kocher sel. (Legat), Frieda und Ulrich Steingruber-Stiftung, Gemeinde Heiden, Hans und Wilma Stutz Stiftung, Ida Wagner-Rüesch Fonds, Irene Colinet-Stiftung, Jolanda & Walter Maier Stiftung, Kanton Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Kath. Kirchgemeinde Heiden-Rehetobel, Katholischer Konfessionsteil des Kantons St. Gallen, Krüger Foundation, Kulturförderung Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Liechtensteinisches Rotes Kreuz LRK, Metrohm Stiftung, Otto Gamma-Stiftung, Österreichisches Rotes Kreuz ÖRK, → Paul-Schiller-Stiftung , Peter und Huldi Aeschbacher-Graf Stiftung, Raiffeisenbank Heiden, → Schaffner Gartenmöbel, → Schweizerisches Rotes Kreuz SRK , SRK beider Appenzell, Steinegg Stiftung Herisau, Stiftung Corymbo, Stiftung für Kunst, Kultur und Geschichte Winterthur (SKKG), Stiftung Fürstlicher Kommerzienrat Guido Feger, Stiftung Heiden, Stiftung STAB, SwissLife Stiftung «Perspektiven», Swisslos-Fonds Kanton Appenzell Innerrhoden, UBS Kulturstiftung, Walter und Verena Spühl-Stiftung, Vontobel-Stiftung


Thanks to the → Circle of Friends of the Museum Henry Dunant


Thanks to the members of the → Matronage and Patronage Committee

Annual Report

Annual Report

The Museum Henry Dunant and the Bernisches Historisches Museum together were the first museums in Switzerland to develop a museum-specific digital form for the annual report. Vivid and entertaining insights into the museum world, rich in exciting background information, pictures, graphics and films make reading the annual report a pleasure...

...

...

Umbau
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum
b_221130_umbauansicht_dunantmuseum
In Arbeit – Umbauansicht November 2022 © dunant-museum
bild1_der-neue-museumszugang2023
Der neue einladende Museumszugang; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum
b_221130_umbauansicht_dunantmuseum
In Arbeit – Umbauansicht November 2022 © dunant-museum
bild1_der-neue-museumszugang2023
Der neue einladende Museumszugang; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum

Das Museum Henry Dunant macht sich fit für die Zukunft!

Im Herbst 2023 wurde der umfassende Umbau abgeschlossen. Mit sorgfältigen und respektvollen Interventionen am und im denkmalgeschützten Haus wurde das Gebäude aus dem 19. Jahrhundert in die Gegenwart geführt und die Basis geschaffen für eine offene, zeitgemässe Museumswelt.


Aktuell arbeiten wir an der Realisierung der neuen Kernausstellung, um das Museum im August 2024 wieder für Besucher:innen zu öffnen. Bis dahin bleibt das Museum weiterhin geschlossen, bietet jedoch auf Anfrage Führungen und Workshops für Schulklassen und Gruppen an. Ausgewählte Veranstaltungen ergänzen das Programm in dieser Zwischenphase bis zur Wiedereröffnung.

Info

Info

Das Museum Henry Dunant umkreist als weltweit einziges Museum das Leben und Wirken des visionären Initianten des Internationalen Roten Kreuzes und der Genfer Konventionen. Henry Dunant (1828–1910) verbrachte die letzten 18 Lebensjahre in Heiden. Das Appenzeller Dorf mit seiner klassizistischen Architektur war damals ein international bekannter Kurort. Hier hat er seine Memoiren verfasst. Auf 800 m. ü. Meer, mit Blick auf den Bodensee und über Grenzen hinweg hat er seine Ideen für eine friedlichere Welt und einen Internationalen Gerichtshof weiterentwickelt. In Heiden hat er 1901 die Mitteilung erhalten, dass er als Erster mit dem Friedensnobelpreis ausgezeichnet werde. Das ihm gewidmete Museum ist im Gebäude untergebracht, in welchem Dunant als zurückgezogener Pensionär bis zu seinem Tod am 30. Oktober 1910 gelebt hatte.


bezirks-krankenhaus-heiden_um1910

Hausgeschichte

Der 1. Oktober 1874 markiert einen wichtigen Tag für das Appenzellerland: in Heiden wird das erste Spital beider Appenzell eröffnet. 1892 bezieht Henry Dunant als Pensionär ein Zimmer im 2. Stock des klassizistischen Gebäudes. Rund hundert Jahre später, 1998, kann im Erdgeschoss des ehemaligen Bezirkskrankenhauses das erste Henry-Dunant-Museum eröffnet werden. 2020 wird ein Neupositionierungsprozess angestossen. Mit einem sorgsamen Umbau des denkmalgeschützten Gebäudes, mit der Neuordnung der Räume und einer neuen Kernausstellung macht das Museum den Schritt ins 21. Jahrhundert. Die Wiedereröffnung ist auf Herbst 2023 geplant.

05_1_bild-4_molekul_1

Vision

Ausgehend vom Leben des IKRK-Initiators ermöglicht das Henry-Dunant-Museum die Auseinandersetzung mit Menschenrechten, mit dem Völkerrecht, mit Frieden und Demokratie. Unter der Co-Leitung von Kaba Rössler und Nadine Schneider wendet sich das Museum näher der Gegenwart zu und entwickelt sich zu einem interdisziplinären Ort des Dialoges. Alle Ausstellungen, Aktionen und Veranstaltungen des Museums haben ein gemeinsames Ziel: das humanistische Erbe zu reflektieren und weiter zu denken, damit diese Werte auch kommende Generationen erreichen.


→ Zur vollständigen Vision

peacebell_farb_kr_kl

Peace Bell

Vor dem Museum Henry Dunant, in einer Installation der St. Galler Künstlerin Lucie Schenker, schwebt ein aussergewöhnliches Objekt: die Peace Bell von Nagasaki. Es ist eine von weltweit 5 Kopien jener Angelus-Glocke, die den Atomabwurf vom 9. August 1945 auf die japanische Stadt fast schadlos überstanden hatte. Die prachtvolle Glocke, ein Geschenk aus Nagasaki, traf im März 2010 in Heiden ein. Seither wird jedes Jahr am 9. August mit dem Läuten der Friedensglocke im Rahmen einer öffentlichen Feier mit prominenten Gästen der Katastrophe von Nagasaki gedacht.

denkmal_img_1532_kr

Denkmal

Vierzig Jahre nach dem Tod von Henry Dunant will der Heidener Schreinermeister Jakob Haug dem Initianten des Roten Kreuzes ein Denkmal setzen. Nach etlichen Hürden kann er 1962 das erste Dunant-Denkmal der Schweiz in Heiden einweihen. Die Bildhauerin Charlotte Jahn Germann hat aus 7,5 t Bündner Granit ein bemerkenswertes Werk geschaffen. Sie meisselte nicht Dunants Konterfei in Stein, sondern dessen wegweisende Idee der humanitären Hilfe in abstrahierender Darstellung: ein barmherziger Samariter und ein Hilfsbedürftiger.

Erwähnenswert ist die unkonventionelle Finanzierung, unterstützten doch alle Schweizer Kantone das Projekt mit einem Rappen pro Einwohner, in Summe mit 45'000 Franken.

Team

Team

Das Museum wird in Co-Leitung von Nadine Schneider und Kaba Rössler geführt. Unterstützt werden sie von einem engagierten Team.

Verein

Verein

Die Gesellschaft vom Rothen Kreuz Heiden wurde am 27. Februar 1890 von Henry Dunant gegründet und von ihm als Ehrenpräsident mitgetragen. Nach Auflösung der kommunalen Rot-Kreuzgesellschaften und dem Zusammenschluss in kantonalen Organisationen wurde 1997 die Gesellschaft in Verein Henry-Dunant-Museum umbenannt. Bereits im Folgejahr konnte das Henry-Dunant-Museum in den Parterreräumen des ehemaligen Bezirkskrankenhauses eröffnet werden. Der steuerbefreite Verein hat das Ziel, das Andenken an Henry Dunant und seine Visionen lebendig zu halten. Mit Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen werden humanitäre Werte in der heutigen Zeit vermittelt. Trägerorganisation des Vereins ist das → Schweizerische Rote Kreuz Kantonalverband beider Appenzell.

Erwin Ganz
Hans-Peter Hotz
Nicole Nobs
Hanspeter Spörri

Delegierter aus dem Gemeinderat

Stefan Züst

Delegierter SRK bd. Appenzell

Beat Bouquet

Ehrenmitglied

John Böhi
Ethel Kocher († 2020)

Ehrenpräsident

Hermann Bergundthal
Henry Dunant († 1910)
Support

Support

Das Museum Henry Dunant wird wiederkehrend von der Gemeinde Heiden, der Kulturförderung des Kantons Appenzell Ausserrhoden sowie von der Appenzellischen Gemeinnützigen Gesellschaft (AGG) und der Ebnet Stiftung finanziell unterstützt.


Das Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsprogramm wird projektbezogen von Stiftungen, Sponsoren und von privaten Gönnerinnen und Gönnern sowie vom Freundeskreis mitfinanziert.


Das Museum Henry Dunant ist Teil der Plattform Museen im Appenzellerland, die vom Amt für Kultur des Kantons Appenzell Ausserrhoden getragen und betreut wird.

logo-button-2

Dank für die Unterstützung des Programms 2024:

acrevis Bank AG, Appenzellische Gemeinnützige Gesellschaft, Ebnet Stiftung, Gemeinde Heiden, ippnw, Kulturförderung Appenzell Ausserrhoden, SRK beider Appenzell


Dank für die Unterstützung der Neupositionierung:

Appenzellische Winkelriedstiftung, → Beisheim-Stiftung, Bertold-Suhner-Stiftung, Deutsches Rotes Kreuz DRK, Dr. Fred Styger Stiftung, Ebnet-Stiftung, ecodocs foundation, → Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Erika und Conrad Schnyder-Stiftung, Ethel Madeleine Kocher sel. (Legat), Frieda und Ulrich Steingruber-Stiftung, Gemeinde Heiden, Hans und Wilma Stutz Stiftung, Irene Colinet-Stiftung, Jolanda & Walter Maier Stiftung, Kanton Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Kath. Kirchgemeinde Heiden-Rehetobel, Katholischer Konfessionsteil des Kantons St. Gallen, Krüger Foundation, Kulturförderung Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Liechtensteinisches Rotes Kreuz LRK, Metrohm Stiftung, Otto Gamma-Stiftung, Österreichisches Rotes Kreuz ÖRK, → Paul-Schiller-Stiftung, Peter und Huldi Aeschbacher-Graf Stiftung, Raiffeisenbank Heiden, → Schweizerisches Rotes Kreuz SRK, SRK beider Appenzell, Steinegg Stiftung Herisau, Stiftung Corymbo,Stiftung für Kunst, Kultur und Geschichte Winterthur (SKKG), Stiftung Fürstlicher Kommerzienrat Guido Feger, Stiftung Heiden, Stiftung STAB, SwissLife Stiftung «Perspektiven», Swisslos-Fonds Kanton Appenzell Innerrhoden, UBS Kulturstiftung, Walter und Verena Spühl-Stiftung, Vontobel-Stiftung


Dank an den → Freundeskreis des Museum Henry Dunant


Dank an die → Mitglieder des Matronats- und Patronatskomitees

Jahresbericht

Jahresbericht

Das Museum Henry Dunant und das Bernische Historische Museum haben zusammen als erste Museen in der Schweiz eine museumsspezifische digitale Form für den Jahresbericht entwickelt. Anschauliche und kurzweilige Einblicke in die Museumswelt, reich an spannenden Hintergrundinformationen, Bildern, Grafiken und Filmen machen die Lektüre des Jahresberichts zu einem Vergnügen...

...

...